2014 Legislative Report Card 2014 Legislative Voting Record

Virginia Chamber Releases 2014 Legislative Report Card

Report Card Slider

The Virginia Chamber of Commerce today released its 2014 Legislative Report Card, which grades legislators based on their support of pro-business issues during the 2014 legislative session. Calculated annually based on legislators’ voting records on the principles and issues outlined in Blueprint Virginia: A Business Plan for the Commonwealth, the Legislative Report Card recognizes legislators for their support on initiatives that will help move Virginia forward.

“The Legislative Report Card allows us to recognize and honor legislators who support the free market system and the interests of the business community,” said Barry DuVal, President and CEO of the Virginia Chamber. “In addition, it provides analysis of a legislator’s support for the business community’s priorities as outlined in Blueprint Virginia.”

This year, 54 Legislators were awarded with the Champion of Free Enterprise Award for their 100% voting record and 47 Legislators earned a grade of “A.” Delegate Terry Kilgore was named the 2014 Legislator of the Year. Under his leadership and through his role as Chairman of the House Commerce and Labor Committee, Delegate Kilgore played an integral role in advancing a pro-business legislative agenda. 

The following legislators are also recognized for their leadership in specific areas:

Freshman Legislator of the Year—Delegate Glenn Davis

Business Advocate of the Year—Delegate David Ramadan

Excellence in Education and Workforce Development Award—Delegates Kathy Byron, Tag Greason, Rob Krupicka, and Chris Peace

Economic Competitiveness Award Senators George Barker, Ryan McDougle, Bill Stanley and Delegate Barbara Comstock

Military and Veterans Affairs Advocate AwardSenators Mamie Locke and Frank Wagner and Delegate Kirk Cox

Transportation Reform Advocate AwardSpeaker Bill Howell, Delegates Chris Peace, Chris Stolle and Ron Villanueva